Corruption Watch Hero/Zero Hall of FameWas there a corruption buster who stood out for you this year? Or a corruption perpetrator who almost made you despair? Now’s the time for you to let us know who you particularly liked or loathed – yes, voting is open for Hero and Zero of the Year.

Last year our heroes were the three arms deal critics – Andrew Feinstein, Paul Holden and Andrew van Vuuren. They withdrew from the Arms Deal Commission in protest against unfair and unproductive actions on the commission’s part, and when the commission presents its final report – some time in the near-ish future – we will see if they were right.

On the zero side, our winner was Eskom, which was on the list not for the all-too-frequent load shedding that it’s become known for, but for unnecessarily spending millions and millions of taxpayers’ money on labour consultants.

Our winners for 2012 and 2013, public protector Thuli Madonsela and President Jacob Zuma, now reside in the Corruption Watch Hall of Fame as a result of their runaway wins for two years in a row. To give other nominees a chance, we have taken them out of contention.