Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Sub-Committee of the Portfolio Committee on Public Service and Administration has met to shortlist candidates for the post of Commissioner of the Public Service Commission. The portfolio committee received 146 applications in response to its advertisement for the job of Commissioner of the Public Service Commission (PSC).
As the PSC is the custodian of good governance and conducts oversight over the public service, applicants must be knowledgeable and skilled in government systems before they can be shortlisted. In addition, applicants must possess the relevant qualifications and have experience at executive or senior management level in either the public or private sector. The committee also considered applicants at middle management level if the candidate possessed the required experience, expertise and qualifications. 
The sub-committee also considered gender representation and persons living with disabilities when shortlisting. In addition, it was guided by Section 196 (10) of the Constitution with regards to identifying a fit and proper candidate for the role.
The sub-committee recommended 16 candidates for shortlisting and decided to proceed with the verification of credentials of these people to ensure that all information supplied is correct.

Committee chairperson Mr Tyotyo James said: “All 16 names will be submitted for security check and if any applicant does not pass the eye of the needle, then that applicant will not be invited for an interview.” This will ensure that the appointment will not cause any conflict of interest.
The following candidates were shortlisted:
Dr Mandlenkosi Stanley Makhanya
Dr William Khotso De Wee
Mr Bhekizenzo Tembe
Mr Jafet Ferdinand Victor
Mr Maseala David Kekana
Mr Thabo Guy Monyanyedi
Mr Themba Thomas Cyril Dlamini
Mr Theodore Madoda Sefuba
Ms Anita Thelma Marshall
Ms Mpho Janet Digojane
Ms Nancy Nomah Ngwenya
Ms Nkele Linah Mogolane
Ms Odette Retana Ramsingh
Ms Thusani Matshele Mulaudzi
Ms Zukiswa Mqolomba
Professor Nicolaas Johannes Jacobus Oliver
Members of the public are encouraged to send their comments on the shortlisted candidates to the committee secretary, Portfolio Committee on Public Service and Administration, Mr Masixole Zibeko, via e-mail at by 11 February 2022.

Issued by the Parliamentary Communication Services on behalf of the chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Public Service and Administration, Mr Tyotyo James.